The Communications Engineering Technology program was first introduced when an Energy and Mechanical Engineering Faculty of the Mongolian National University (MNU) enrolled its first communication engineering students in 1967. The Department of Communication Engineering Technology (DCET) was established in 1971 with 6 faculty members within the Faculty of Power engineering of the MNU. With respect to the rapid development and new technology introduction in the communications sector of Mongolia, the DCET have been offered two programs; the Radio communications engineering technology and Telecommunications engineering technology. In 1986, the DCET enlarged through combining with the Faculty of Engineering and Economics named as the Faculty of Information Engineering and Automation (FITA). The FITAwas further merged with the Communication Training Center /Communication College/ in 1991 and became the School of Information technic of Mongolian Technical University (MTU), which was a foundation of the current School of Information and Communication Technology (SICT) of Mongolian University of Science and Technology (MUST, former MTU). Since that time, the Departments of Radio communications engineering technology and Telecommunications engineering technology were established separately and reorganized as the current DCET in July, 2014 under structural innovation of the SICT. As of 2016, the DCET offering undergraduate and graduate study programs including 2 BSc, 2 joint BSc, 5 MSc and 2 PhD programs. There are 33 faculty members consisting of 12 professors and associate professors with Ph.D degree, 15 PhD candidates working as senior lecturers, 2 lecturers with MSc degree, 3 teaching assistants and 1 department secretary. Since 2014, The DCET has been working on a curriculum reform and the implementation of CDIO approach for two undergraduate programs in order to prepare graduates with broad knowledge on telecommunication and wireless communication engineering technology and skills to concieve, design and implement any product, process and system as well as personal and communication skills.


The beginning of the Electronic Department is considered from the time when Information technique and automation faculty in Technical University is divided into two parts as Electronic department in School of Information Technique and Automatic-Electronic department in Computer Science and Management School. In the past, the departments names were changed several times and after all in 2014 “Electronic technique”, “Digital signal processing and microprocessor technique” and “Computer Hardware” professor teams are joined to establish today's Department of Electronics. From the time when it was first established in February first of 1991, Department of Electronics prepared nationwide professionals in the automatic-electronics' field and is accredited for “Electronic system automation” program in 2010. Now, preparing bachelor, master and Ph.D graduates for three major disciplines: Electronic system software, automated system and embedded system. In the last 30 years, since it was established, the department has been preparing over 2000 bachelors, 200 masters and 20 Ph.D graduates to the Information technology sector. Statistical information gives, in 2016, 273 bachelors, 6 masters and 1 Ph.D students study in the department.


The history of Computer Science department starts in 1984, where interuniversity department of Automatic control system and computing machinery was established at the engineering economics faculty of polytechnic institute by the decree of government of Mongolia. Later this department became part of School of Computer Science and Management, as well as one of departments School of Information and Communication Technology, MUST since July 1, 2014. Department offers Software Engineering (1987) and Computer Science (2016) bachelor, master and doctor degree programs. Also department offers “3+1” joint degree program in Software Engineering with Indian IEC University since 2012. In last 30 years since first enrollment in Software Engineering in 1987, a total of 1060 BS, 154 MS and 9 PhD students have graduated from the department. We are proud of the students and the graduates of our programs. Today our students working in every corner of Mongolia at industry, government and non government organizations in leading IT positions. Also our graduates are highly valued abroad and many of them working successfully in like Microsoft, Adobe Systems and other prestigious.


The Information Technology (IT) department offers academic programs leading to the Bachelor and Master degrees of Information Technology since 1991 and the PhD. Degree of Information Technology since 1996. Since 2000 it began to offer the bachelor and master programs of Automation of Information System. As a result of the Higher Education Reform project, the Information Technology department was formed on July 1, 2014 by the merger of the professor teams at the School of Information and Communication Technology and School of Information and Communication Technology, MUST. The Bachelor of Science in Information System degree was offered by School of computer science and management since 1998. The undergraduate program in Information Technology is accredited by the Accreditation Commission of National Education in 2009 while the program in Information System accredited in 2010. The Information Technology Department has both undergraduate and graduate programs. The following degrees are offered: Bachelor of Science in Information Technology and Information System Master of Science in Information Technology and Information System 


Information network professor team, founded under the 196th statement of rector in September 20, 2002, has been educating undergraduate and graduate students in Information network for 13 years according to the MNS5323-69:2009 high education standard, “Special permission for education”. The total number of undergraduate students of information network in 2014's academic year was about 350 and the bachelor's degrees were awarded to 260 students in 10 graduation cycle. Furthermore, the information network program was locally accredited in 2012. Information network specialists have been prepared since 2005 and network technology and System security specialists have been prepared since 2014. According to the reorganization statement of rector in February 01, 2016, we broadened into Information Network and Security Department with 3 doctors, 3 senior lecturers, 7 lecturers, PhD candidates, 2 training master and a professor assistant. Moreover, Cisco authorized training are conducted by our CCNA and CCNP certified teachers in Cisco